New Jersey’s Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO) has a fund to help with costs related to injuries suffered by innocent victims of violent crime or their families. The crimes covered include aggravated assault, assault by auto, bias crimes, victim present during a burglary, carjacking, child abuse, domestic violence, drug and food tampering, DWI, eluding a police officer, hit and run, homicide (including vehicular) or murder, human trafficking, kidnapping, lewd and indecent acts, sexual related crimes, stalking and other crimes of violence (ex. robbery, arson).
Who is eligible for assistance from the VCCO?
Who is not eligible for assistance?
Common Crimes Not Covered
What kinds of benefits are available from the VCCO?
The VCCO will pay crime-related expenses only after a victim or eligible person applies to other sources, such as State disability insurance, workers compensation, etc. Life insurance and private donations are not considered other sources. All medical bills must be first submitted to insurance providers; uninsured victims must first apply for Charity Care for hospital bills and submit award or denial letters to VCCO. If there is no coverage, bills should be presented to the VCCO as soon as possible. All bills will be verified in order to establish accuracy and relationship to the crime.
The VCCO generally does not compensate for property loss or pain and suffering
What are the requirements to apply for reimbursement from the VCCO?
A person wishing to apply for reimbursement from the VCCO must:
An applicant should also supply these additional documents, if possible:
The maximum benefit available is $25,000 per victim. However, if it is determined that the event caused a catastrophic injury, a person may be eligible for a supplemental amount of $35,000 for rehabilitative services only.
What can I do if my application is denied?
Within 6 months the agency will render a decision once all necessary documentation has been submitted. A victim may appeal if an application for assistance is denied. The appeal must be made within 20 days of receiving the denial. An applicant will receive notice of the hearing, but not less than 15 days prior to when it is to be scheduled. All materials should be presented at this hearing; good cause must be shown for failure to appear at the hearing. After the hearing, the victim may file a formal appeal to the Appellate Division of the Superior Court within 45 days from the date that the VCCO’s order is received.
How do I get an application for compensation from the VCCO?
Applications are available at each county prosecutor’s office, law enforcement agency and medical institution in New Jersey, as well as online. The online application and further information can be found by visiting the VCCO website.
You may also call the VCCO at 1 (877) 658-2221 Monday through Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Translation services are also available in Spanish through VCCO in order to assist you in processing your claim.
The VCCO Web site contains other important information relating to services for victims, including the VINE (Victim Information Notification Everyday) program, which allows victims access to information about whether or not their assailant has been released from jail. You may register with VINE by calling 1 (877) VINE-4-NJ or 1 (877) 846-3465 or by visiting the VINE website.
This information last reviewed: Dec 27, 2022