Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Help (new window)
Navigate Up


​​​​​​​​Welcome to the LSNJLAWSM website, provided by Legal Services of New Jersey (LSNJ). LSNJ is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit offering free legal advice to low-income people in New Jersey. Find legal information by clicking on a legal topic or typing a few words into the search box. ​

​​​​​​​​
Jobs and Employment
New Jersey Minimum Hourly Wage Increasing to $8.85
​​

Low-wage workers in New Jersey will soon see a 25-cent increase in the minimum hourly wage, to $8.85. Since 2013, the state’s annual increases in minimum hourly wages have been based on changes in the Consumer Price Index. The new minimum wage rate for overtime (over 40 hours in a week) should be $13.28. Workers who work on salary, piece, or task rates will often be eligible for overtime, even if not paid on an hourly rate, unless there is a specific exemption that applies to them.

New Jersey employers are also required to give their state employees notices about the employees’ rights under certain state and federal laws. These notices need to be posted and followed. ​​​

11/28/2018