Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Help (new window)
Navigate Up
Legal Services of New Jersey  Legal Services of New Jersey

Apply Online for Legal Help

During the COVID-19 pandemic the LSNJ Hotline will remain open during its normal business hours. Our Hotline staff will be working remotely and you may encounter delays when calling.

Sheriff’s Sale Delays (N.J.S.A. 2A:50-64)

In 2019, Governor Phil Murphy signed nine new laws that affect New Jersey foreclosures. The laws aim to help homeowners and reduce foreclosures. This article describes the law that relates to sheriff’s sale delays.

At the end of many foreclosure cases, a sheriff’s sale is scheduled to sell the foreclosed house at auction. Under the new law, defendants (people named personally) in a foreclosure case can ask for two (2) delays of the house sale, up to 30 days each time. To request a delay, the defendant should call the county sheriff’s office before the first scheduled sale date.

The old law only allowed delays up to 14 days; the new law, in effect since July 28, 2019, provides a way to delay the sale for an extra month.

For more information about other important sections of the laws, click on one of the topics below.

The “citations” (letters and numbers next to each section title) are codes used to find laws online or in a law library.​​

× Say Their Names